In memory of a beautiful time in the pink city

View of the city from Nahargarh fort
View of the city from Nahargarh fort
Having been married for three years, all I had seen was separation from my sweetheart. Was eagerly looking forward to join him in the next station…. for all I know it could have been Timbuktu. All I prayed to god for was some togetherness time 🙂
29102011280 And then the news came…. we were moving to Jaipur. It had always been the place I  wanted to visit. But here I was being given a chance to go and live in a place that was on my “to visit” list. I was excited and was looking forward to it. My mamaji too happens to have settled in Jaipur, which was an additional bonus 🙂
We reached Jaipur in December 2009… December is beautiful in Jaipur. We spent three plus beautiful years in this awesome city. Living in a place for such a long time… you tend to forget that for us in the army, no place is forever.
The world under our feet :)
The world under our feet 🙂
It is an awesome place offering one all that you can ask for. Like I heard someone say when I reached their “Jaipur is not a metro but it has all the advantages of a big city without the disadvantages”.
 DSC_7509Jaipur cantonment was as beautiful as any other. What I remember was the beauty of Bougainvillea, Beautiful shades of pink scattered all around us. Jaipur is the capital of the desert state of Rajasthan. But Jaipur is far from a desert. Its green and beautiful. Weather is awesome.  Summers are hot…. but when the heat just gets unbearable… it rains. And believe me rains in Jaipur are beautiful. Winters are cold… but not chilled. You surely don’t miss the sun. You would know what I mean if you have seen the North Indian winters.
Beautiful memories
Beautiful memories
I sure do miss Jaipur. First and foremost because it was our first station together. It was one time I got to see my husband everyday when I slept and when I woke up 🙂
Secondly I miss the awesome people I met there…. at workplace, at my gym, at my painting class and off course in the cantonment.
Holi!!
Holi!!
Picnic in midst of nowhere :)
Picnic in midst of nowhere 🙂
  I miss the lovely Nahargarh, Jal Mahal, Amer fort…. The heritage. Off course when you are in the city you take these for granted and do not visit them too frequently. But whatever visits and picnics we had were fun.
The beautiful Amer fort
The beautiful Amer fort
And yes I also do miss the shopping. I am not a shopaholic and neither is my hubby. It takes a lot of effort for us to visit the market just like that… We are more objective driven shoppers. 😉 But yes shopping in Jaipur was always fun!
Precious stones @ johari bazaar
Precious stones @ johari bazaar

There are so many memories of Jaipur. Memories I will always cherish. I do not know if I will ever visit Jaipur again… you really can’t foresee such things. And the chances of ever being posted there is rarest. In the army it happens only once in the lifetime.

Visit to a Circus - special show for the Armed forces personnel - awesome experience
Visit to a Circus – special show for the Armed forces personnel – awesome experience
But I have a tendency to get attached to places. The nostalgia would always be there. The good old days…..
15112011326
Goodbye Jaipur and thank you for a wonderful stay and memories of a lifetime…  Hope we meet again. 🙂
DSC_0083
4 thoughts on “In memory of a beautiful time in the pink city

Leave a Reply

