Himachli Khatiai…. courtsey Mom-in-law

I love to cook.. and off course eat :), and until lately that was just about it.  But now impressed by my bhabhi’s awesome food blog cinnamonNchillies…. which most of the times when i look for something new n different to cook up, serves my need…. and also so many other bloggers who are gracious enough to spend their time and energy to share such awesome recipes…. i thought perhaps why not share mine as well…. who knows it might help someone like I have been helped so many times…. so here is to you bhabi n all co-bloggers… n for this particular recipe, most of all to my mom in law for having taught it to me….

One of the many benefits of having been married to a guy from another state and another culture has been the awesome cuisine I got introduced to. The local Himachali cuisine is a treat to a foodie like me. And my hubby and mom in law are forever amused to see how i relish it…. (the Punjabi taste buds I guess :P)

The sweet and tangy taste of khatiai and perhaps the simplicity of the recipe makes it one of my top favourites. And it goes perfect with just about all meals… and for me going by the quantity I consume it generally is more like another dish. Sharing the recipe here… do try it and let me know if you share my love for it 🙂

Picture 676

Ingredients

Raw Mango  1 Kg

Onions(finely sliced)  2 medium sized

Mustard Oil 2 table spoon

Fenugreek seeds  1/2 tea spoon

Fennel seeds (saunf) 1 tea spoon ( I like more of it so sometimes I add 2)

Asafoetida 1/4 tea spoon

chilli powder  to taste

cummin powder 1/2 tea spoon

black pepper 1/2 tea spoon

Black salt to taste

Salt to taste

Turmeric  1/4 tea spoon

Sugar or Gur (Jaggery) 4 serving spoons – approximately 3/4 cup – adjust as per taste

Picture 677
Don’t go by the looks…. it is truly yummy!!

Method:

1. Peel the mangoes, wash them and cut them into long slices ( something like french fries). Sometimes my mom-in-law washes them after cutting to reduce the sourness.

2. Heat the oil till it gives out fumes. Switch off the gas stove and add Fenugreek seeds, Fennel seeds, Asafoetida

3. Switch on the gas and add the onions…. stir and add turmeric and chilli powder. Add the Mango slices, black salt, salt, cummin powder, black pepper.

4. Add one cup water to cook. Add the jaggery or sugar. You may add more water if you feel it is not cooked and the water dries up. Will take approximately 20 mins to cook. The consistency will thicken once it cools down.

5. Serve chilled!!!

Leave a Reply

