Pregnancy is not a bed of Roses :P

Yeah neither is life a bed of roses. The ups and downs are just what makes us swing and shout…. sometimes with joy and sometimes in anguish.

My previous post must have surely made it sound like that pregnancy is a beautiful castle I am living in… With due regard to all my love and longing for this beautiful child within, this awesome castle also does have some ghosts…. mostly from the past…. of things that no more are… of the changes big and small…

But somehow our society keeps talking about some maternal instincts… and makes us believe that we women are to smile and endure. And that makes us feel so guilty to complain even teeny weeny.

off course the aches and pains, the physical discomfort is something I would rather not talk about. The books on pregnancy are just full of that…. but what perhaps is not so much elaborated is the life changes it brings. To start with…. unlike the carefree bird you have been suddenly every morsel that goes into your mouth is weighed on the scale of nutrition. And what is worse is that at 33 you yourself are old enough to go berserk on nutrition, but nevertheless your parents who still consider you a 3 yr old would ensure they guide you as much as they can.

I do love that small tummy which has started bulging out…. and yeah I also would love to flaunt it πŸ™‚ but then on some days you look in the mirror and cannot help but miss that old body…. And I have to just tell myself that right now all I can do is love this and love the food…. and yeah eat to my hearts content… Guilt free πŸ™‚

And then the biggest blow comes when all your favourite clothes start giving up on you. Starting with the ones that were clinging and then even the looser ones suddenly start giving up on you…. And suddenly you “really” do not have anything to wear anymore 😦

But then off course it does have a bright side too. Life is not a bed of roses but yes lots of petals here and there…. so you end up shopping for a whole new wardrobe πŸ˜€ And yeah shopping is fun πŸ™‚

Off course that is not the end of the story. But I would rather not scare people off and make myself more guilty of complaining. And these I know are just phases…. The best is yet to be πŸ™‚

And know what… I recently met a mommy with a three month old daughter and listening to her stories…. of endless days and long nights…. I realised the show has just begun, and very soon I shall have many more reasons to walk upside down. The ride has just begun and yeah… I shall sail through with a biggggggggg smile.

 

Leave a Reply

