Monthly Gynae Check Ups… A Torturous Entertainment

The monthly gynaecologist visit is (or use to be) quite a torture. No the gynae is awesome but poor guy is so overloaded with work that we have to wait for anything from 40 minutes to two hours. And waiting is such a torture. I would refuse to go without my hubby as waiting alone is extremely tiring. And sometimes it gets too much to bear and you just feel like getting up and going back home, but then I know that I am the one who needs to beΒ  patient….. and even if we walk away today we will have to come back tomorrow.

Perhaps all this waiting business is designed to build up our patience which would be so badly needed once the baby comes. So maybe all this is a part of preparations for motherhood.

Now that is for the torture part. But on my last visit I realised it was all upto me, a little bit of change in my perception….. and I could be so much entertained. After all a gynae’s waiting room is full of women and what could be more entertaining than a bunch of women. So either you start up a conversation, and group conversations work out awesome or you can just take a very passive role and eavesdrop on some women engaged in a conversation. And yesterday both me and my husband were sitting quitely enjoying some conversation between two women. (evil no πŸ˜› but it was all in good humour)

Also watching the plight of the doctor… a male doctor dealing with women since morning. Unfortunately like most places in India the hospital here is badly understaffed and the question of working by appointments just does not arise. So I feel the doctor really needs to be awarded a big gallantry award for dealing with so many women and that too single handedly.

Once we had gone for a visit, while my check up was on he was humming to himself. Off course my husband was flabbergasted, after all his wife and little one were suppose to be in this able hands of the doctor. But then I had to tell him that I completely trust the doctor and perhaps this was just his stress releasing mechanism. And yesterday poor guy in between his patients was sneaking out biscuits. No my doctor is not at all weird. I dont think poor guy has time to even catch up on a cup of coffee or tea.

Off course I completely empathize with my doctor, but then the naughty little girl in me could not come back home and make fun of all the action inside the doctors cabin and yes off course the waiting room πŸ˜‰ I could not stop laughing and hubby dear was worried if all was well πŸ˜‰ Pregnancy hormones I tell you…. weird….. but on second thought I always have been weird πŸ˜›

Anyways, the bottom line is that a change in perception makes life more beautiful and full of laughter. And yeah its sometimes good to be weird πŸ™‚ And now I surely do look forward to my torturous entertaining monthly visits (which are soon gonna be fortnightly and then weekly). And also look forward to coming across some amazing women and their oh so entertaining conversations, until the little wonder comes around and makes me forget that the world exists…. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

