Anna Karenina-Book review

I would like to at the onset make a disclaimer… I am no literary person. This is an epic and yet i take on the task of presenting my views. 

So this book has been on my to be read list since ages… at least 6 years that I remember. I even once got hold of a copy during a vacation. But perhaps the thickness of the book and the distractions of a beautiful place kept me from reading. Having kept the book for almost 2 months I returned it unread. 

And then i enetered phases where i was reading sprituality and then motherhood and parenting books.

This time I came across the book as a free copy on my kindle unlimited. Though eventually i took three months to read it during which my subscription lapsed and i bought a copy to finish it. 

The book undoubtedly has the finesse you expect from such a genius. The language is beautiful. The way it expresses the feelings of the characters you can actually visualise it in your head so clearly. The details to which it goes is awesome. Leave alone the famous quotations from this book, every page is a marvel to read. 

BUT…. it did not eventually go down well with me. Now as the name goes i expected more of Anna in the book. I wanted so much more of her…. to know her more ….. read more about her. The multiple characters in the book kept me from being too engrossed. The name of the book was not justified, it was not even 50% Anna’s story.

Secondly I had always thought of Anna as a strong character….. the book totally failed me on that account. The end she meets with really disappointed me. At so many points in the story i could not help pitying her, which was not what i had expected. 

Nevertheless I would say it was a good book and it did leave a mark…. for it has me still thinking about it one week later…. 

Leave a Reply

